TEXT SIZE

AA

1

Online Databases

aussie-driver.com

aussie-driver.com is a free website for new drivers (and a great refresher for already licenced drivers). You will find Queensland-specific practice tests, exam simulator, driver handbooks (car, motorcycle, heavy vehicle), and a FAQ section. The site is automatically updated when new tests become available.

BeConnected

BeConnected is an Australia wide initiative empowering all Australians to thrive in a digital world. It includes online learning resources as well as a Network of community partners - the Be Connected Network - who offer in-person support so you can develop your digital skills and confidence. Find a local place for friendly help and advice, or join the Network to help others.

The Computer School logo

The Computer School

Confused about how to surf the Web? Or use Microsoft Word? Or navigate Facebook or Twitter? The Computer School has basic introductory tutorials on all of these and much more. To access click on the logo and type in your Bundaberg Regional Libraries membership number.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a database of online video tutorials and courses on topics such as business, CAD, marketing, photography, website development, programming, education, IT, management, etc. It also provides tutorials on many different software packages. A hugely useful resource for students and anyone wishing to learn for work, study, or pleasure. The State Library of Queensland has facilitated access to Lynda.com for all Queensland public libraries. Your library membership number and Library PIN is required to sign in. The first time you use Lynda.com you will be asked to complete your profile (with your email address). This will enable you to personalise Lynda.com and save videos for viewing later, etc.

State Library of Queensland databases

Numerous databases in many subject areas are accessible through the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) website, with free membership.

SLQ databases include:
•  General reference
•  Newspapers (current) PressReader
•  Newspapers (historic)
•  eBooks
•  Medical information
•  Dictionaries
•  Health & Wellness Resource Center

Get free SLQ membership here:

Register

 

National Library of Australia databases

Access to online licenced resources on a variety of topics. You will need to apply for a free National Library of Australia card.

Databases include many of the same offered by the State Library (above), plus more.

 

In Library use only

Ancestry Library Edition - genealogy (family history) - Available via library computers only.
Choice Online - consumer information, including product tests and comparisons, from Choice. Ask staff for login and password details. Available at all branches

No login required

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Australian Dictionary of Biography (ADB)
Australian Historic Newspapers - 1803-1954
Convict Transportation Registers - 1787-1867
Trove - Digitised Australian newspapers (historic)